Mare’s Awesome Plan of Awesomeness

02Dec08

Yesterday, I told you that in early August, I made a plan. I was tired of living my life passively and decided to take control of my life and my goals. This week marks 4 months since I started my plan, and I’m going to use this week to describe my plan and how it has progressed.

My plan is called Mare’s Awesome Plan of Awesomeness, because I wanted to look at my plan and laugh. I also wanted a reminder that this plan is about ME and about working towards the life I dream about.

My plan is short and sweet – it only has four goals on it. Four months, four goals. I chose goals that won’t achieve my ultimate dreams; instead, each goal is intended to be a solid foundation or step towards my dreams. Each goal will prepare me to move further into challenging myself and achieving my dreams.

Here’s what I wrote at the beginning of August: “By December 1st, 2008, I will weigh less than 200lbs, take a BCIT course and get 75% or higher, move to a new apartment in a professionally managed building, and pay off my VISA card.”

Now, this makes no sense unless you know where I was at in August.

My first goal is weight-related. In early August, I was weighing in around 212lbs. I was reasonably content with my body, overall, but I was constantly frustrated at how tired I was and how much harder physical endeavours had become. I didn’t like being naked, because I was ashamed at what I had let happen to my body. I missed the strength and muscle tone I had just a few years ago. And to be honest, I was pissed off about looking fat in a wedding dress. I didn’t want to be one of those women who starves herself for her wedding or buys a too-small dress, but I also wanted to feel sexy, confident and womanly.

My second goal is academic, but also related to my career. I want to work in non-profit management, and to build my knowledge and skills, I am joining BCIT’s non-profit management certificate. I took one class in the spring, and did very well in the class, so I decided to take another class and commit to getting another great grade!

My third goal is domestic. Since May 2007, we had been living in a basement apartment. We had lots of space, lots of clutter, and lots of problems with the apartment. The people upstairs were frustrating, the apartment wasn’t very well maintained, and it just didn’t feel like home. I wanted to find a new place for the two of us to call home – a place that was welcoming, comfortable and well managed.

My fourth goal is financial. In August 2008, my credit card was hovering near maxed out at $1000. Until 2008, I had always been really good at paying off my credit card in a timely manner. Then I graduated and my financial help from my parents stopped. My income stayed the same while the cost of living rose and rose and rose. While it seemed like my debt came out of nowhere, I know that it was really a slow process of justifications and desperation. I wanted to clear my debt and re-adjust my finances so that I can prepare to save for our wedding and enter into our marriage in a responsible manner.

Over the next four days, I’ll write about each goal and the steps I took to achieve it.



6 Responses to “Mare’s Awesome Plan of Awesomeness”

  1. 2 Marianne

    Thanks Sally!

  2. 3 N

    Your site looks great šŸ™‚ Way to go on your goals!

  3. 4 Laura

    I think I need to start an Awesome Plan of Awesomeness (or something similar) for myself… I think we should talk again soon about this joint-motivational effort, no?

  4. 5 Marianne

    Thanks, N!

    Laura – I think we should talk about this some more. Miss you lady!


  1. 1 The Awesome Plan « Practice Living

Leave a comment