The New Job

07Dec08

In August, I was working at a great job for a non-profit whose work I really believe in. I liked the people I worked with, the flexible hours, the fun environment. What I didn’t like was the pay – it was a small organization and there just wasn’t a lot of money. What had been enough pay when I was still in university and had some financial help from my parents just wasn’t cutting it anymore.

Then I got a phone call in late August from a friend, who wanted me to come and tour her workplace and meet some of her coworkers. They weren’t hiring, she just thought I’d like to learn more about them. One thing lead to another, and by the middle of September I had been offered a job, complete with a 50% raise. With a heavy but excited heart, I accepted the job and gave my notice. On October 1st, I started my new job. Two months into it now, I love it and feel like I made the right decision.

As much as I love this job, it caused some upheaval in my life, which is why I felt alright about putting my moving goal aside for a few months. My schedule and my commute changed, and with that, our lifestyle has had to adapt too. We’re still working out all the kinks, but choosing not to throw a move into the mix was the right thing.



No Responses Yet to “The New Job”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment