Decisional Balance

01Nov08

I spent the two days last week in motivational interviewing training at work. While the other staff members at the training deal directly with our clients, I work in the admin section, very removed from the one-on-one work. The training was much more applicable for them, but for me, it was a good view into their work and provided me some tools to use in my personal life. The trainer we had was great, and had us do all the exercises and role plays using our own lives, instead of pretending to be clients.

The part of our training that stuck with me the most was working through a decisional balance. We had to think of a change we want to make in our lives, then our partner walked us through the grid, guiding us to list the concerns and benefits of staying the same or making the change – basically, a more thorough pros/cons list.

I decided that my “change” would be to exercise more, while “staying the same” would be remaining my couch potato ways. At first I wasn’t taking it very seriously, but as I listed off different ideas, and my partner prompted me (in a totally hilarious, flattering-but-blunt way), things started just pouring out and getting a little intense.

If you want to see what the decisional balance looked like for me, it’s available as a PDF here. It’s a fascinating way to work through whatever is pushing you towards and keeping you from a change.

Today I started Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred, and I’m committing myself to doing it throughout November. It’s hard and it sucks, but it’s less than half an hour a day, it was $15, and I can do it in my living room, which crosses out a few of my objections!

2 Responses to “Decisional Balance”

  1. 1 Laura

    How has the 30-day shed gone? Only two days to go, good work! đŸ˜€

  2. 2 Marianne

    Hahaha not so great, actually!


Leave a Reply

