Incredibly Close

27Oct08

On the bus home from work today, I finished the book I’ve been reading for the last week. I want to read it again immediately, and I do not want to give the book back to the friend who lent it to me! I’m a big crier, but never in public, and this book made me bawl on my packed-at-rush-hour bus.

Today, I am grateful for my new favourite book, a bizarre, touching story about a little boy searching for all the answers.

Go read Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer. Now. Then join me in giving it 5 stars on GoodReads!

3 Responses to “Incredibly Close”

  1. 1 Kate

    Hey doll.

    This is one of my all time favourites. Have you read “Everything is Illuminated”? I can’t decide which I like the most.

    Also, you might like his wifes book which is called “The History of Love”. I can’t remember her name but she is fantastic.

  2. 2 erin

    That book is simply amazing. Didn’t it make your boots light? šŸ™‚ And, as Kate mentioned, “The History of Love” IS also really good.

    Another wonderful book that I read this year that gave me that same sort of feeling (kind of) was “The Book Thief” by Markus Zusak — holy crap, it was wonderful.

  3. 3 Marianne

    Kate – Everything is Illuminated is on my list of “to reads” right now. Can’t wait! I’ll look into his wife’s book too – thanks for the recommendation.

    Erin – Totally made my boots light! Thanks for the Zusak recommendation!


Leave a Reply

