Wii Like It

17Jul08

For my birthday, Adam tried to get me Wii Fit. He had us on a pre-order list and everything, but the store he had ordered through let too many people pre-order, and we were out of luck. Since the Wii Fit was released in late May, he’s been trying hard to find us a copy. He staked out different stores, found out delivery schedules, and still nothing.

Until last Friday.

I was happily going about my day at work when I got a text message that said he found one. Turns out he not only found one, he and his co-worker got the last two at the store! Success!

That night I tried out a few exercises, and then promptly sat on my butt all weekend feeling sorry for myself. The last few days I’ve been playing around with some of the games. I’m enjoying it enough that I want to get into a routine of doing it every day.

My favourites so far are the hula hoop aerobics game (“How the hell is this aerobic? *hula hoops* *sweats* How the hell is this so HARD?”) and the balance games. The yoga games are fun too, but some of them are difficult because, living in a basement suite, the ceiling in our TV area is only 6’ high.

I do have some issues with the game, mainly about how it “talks” to you about weight and its dependence on BMI. When you do the body test, it weighs you and asks you to work towards a weight loss goal. It wants you to achieve a “healthy” BMI, and changes the shape of your Mii depending on your current BMI. Mine went from its usual appearance to being a little barrel-shaped thing with arms and legs since I’m obese by BMI standards. If you gain weight, it asks you to tell it why you gained, and doesn’t provide the option that is most likely for most people – day-to-day weight fluctuations. The weight scale is also a little off – it seems to average 4lbs lower than our bathroom scale, with occasional wild fluctuations (uh, no, Wii Fit, I didn’t lose FOURTEEN POUNDS overnight, thanks) in either direction.

I can set aside those issues though, because the games are just too much fun. As you get better at them or put more minutes into it, you unlock new games and difficulty levels, so it stays challenging and interesting. The games are similar enough to pick up quickly, but different enough to challenge you in a variety of ways. I’m learning that my balance is questionable at best, and it’s confirmed that my posture is awful and told me why that’s not a good thing.

It’s also providing a little healthy competition for Adam and I, as we try to beat each other at different games. So far he does better at the aerobic and strength exercises, while I’m better at the balance and yoga games, but it will be interesting to see if that changes.

All in all, it’s been a great investment, and a ton of fun. If you have a Wii already, and can find a copy, I’d encourage you to check it out!

2 Responses to “Wii Like It”

  1. 1 Jenn

    I also just posted a funny conversation my Wii Fit and I had. I also love the step and the yoga.

    http://jennandlucas.blogspot.com/2008/07/wii-fit.html

    Jenn

  2. 2 Marianne

    Glad you enjoy the Wii Fit too, Jenn! I unlocked advanced step this week and it’s hilarious how awkward I am at it!


Leave a Reply

