Change of Mind

17Jul08

After skipping aquafit last weekend in favour of going to the walk-in clinic, I was working myself into a serious snit. I was grumpy about missing something I enjoy, about getting sick, about being without insurance. I was getting whiney, and generally unpleasant to be around.

Happily, the rest of the week has been a significant improvement. By Monday I was feeling significantly better, so I didn’t need to fill my prescription. The infection seems to be working its way out slowly but surely, and I’m only congested first thing in the morning. Tuesday night my cousin and her best friend arrived for their Vancouver stop on a month-long cross-Canada driving vacation. It gave Adam and I a good reason to really clean up the apartment, as well as to cook a really great dinner.

I keep forgetting how fun it is to entertain! It’s such a delight to set the table properly, cook a fancier meal than we might normally, and sit down to eat with other people whose company we enjoy. We made Real Simple’s Parmesan Pasta with Chicken and Rosemary, which was delicious and homey, and paired it with my favourite salad from the Rebar cookbook, the Rustic Bread Salad. Ice cream sundaes were a fun way to end off our meal. Wednesday morning I threw together french toast with BC blueberries, which kept us going through a long, leisurely visit to the Aquarium.

We had a ton of fun visiting with Laura and getting to know Kristy. After the Aquarium and a trip to Granville Island, they hit the road to head to Victoria for a few days, and then up Island to Tofino before they turn around and head back to Ontario. I’m so glad they stopped by for a visit, and hope the rest of their trip is a safe and fun adventure!

Playing hooky from work yesterday was a total treat. The weather has been perfect here the last week or two – temperatures in the mid to high 20s (that’s mid 70s to mid 80s for the Americans), sunny, with a light breeze. Instead of being inside at my desk, we spent the day wandering the Aquarium and Granville Island. If I ever doubted how much good Vitamin D does me, yesterday erased it.

All in all, this week has been a total turnaround for me, and I’m so grateful for it!

No Responses Yet to “Change of Mind”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

