I like to move it, move it.

05Jul08

Picture the lemur king from Madagascar singing that post title.

Here’s the thing – I do enjoy many forms of exercise! Shocker, I know. I grew up dancing and playing softball (both for 12ish years), spent much of high school playing basketball, and I’ve occasionally played recreational or intermural volleyball, slo-pitch, and indoor and outdoor soccer. I’ve always liked going on walks or bike rides. I love the feeling of being in the water, and loved adult swim lessons even though I hated them as a kid. I used to go to the gym 3-4 times a week because I loved the way I felt afterwards, all endorphin-y and strong.

The problem is that I don’t really do much of these things anymore. I spend a lot of time sitting on my butt, frankly, at work and at home. I have no idea why, although I would wager a guess that it’s part laziness and part some unidentified factor.

A little while ago I was researching swim lessons, and found out that one of the outdoor pools in town is doing Saturday morning aquafit classes all summer. I’ve made plans to meet someone there this morning, so in an hour and a half, I’ll be in that water grooving to the beat of some cheesy 90s pop.

I’m totally looking forward to it except for one thing: I haven’t worn a bathing suit in public in probably two years. Especially not without board shorts on. I am freaking out, and then getting mad at myself because this is practically the most cliche thing to freak out about ever. Even if people DO look at me funny or whatever, why do I care? It’s what I need to wear to do something that I will enjoy.

I’m hoping I can suck it up and just go enjoy aquafit. If it’s a good class, I think it will be a good way to start off my Saturdays for the remainder of the summer!

One Response to “I like to move it, move it.”


  1. 1 Aqua-ouch. « Practice Living

Leave a Reply

