TGU: The Progress

26May08

So at the half-way point of The Great Unclutter, I’m ahead of the count numbers-wise. Honestly, though, I don’t feel as much of a difference in our house as I had hoped for. I think that speaks to just how much extraneous STUFF we/I have accumulated since I moved to Vancouver. There is so much still to do, and I am looking forward to a successful next 5 weeks.

To show myself how far I have come, I want to post a few pictures of before-and-afters.

TVbefore TVafter

This is the TV area of our living room. We spend a lot of time in here, so this gets looked at frequently. It was driving me crazy, and was one of the first areas I tackled.

Tablebefore tableafter

This is one of the side tables in our living room. It gets used as a dumping ground for my stuff far too often, a habit I am trying to change.

As the next 5 weeks go by, I’ll add more pictures to The Great Unclutter set on Flickr. There are a few pictures of the things I’ve moved out now, as well as notes on the pictures above. As you can see, things are starting to look less cluttered and more organized, but I still have a LONG way to go. Our bedroom and our “office” are possibly the biggest offenders of all, and I haven’t made much progress there yet.

The bedroom should improve this week. After getting rid of 55 items of clothing, I think there will be more room in my closet and dresser to put things away properly. Just getting my clothes off the floor will make a huge visual difference in there! Our new bed is set to be delivered after work today, and that will give us more storage space, too.

The office is my focus for the next two weeks. It’s a nightmare, folks. I’m still debating whether to take before-and-after pictures or not, because it’s embarrassing. There are lots of things that should have a home in there that I have just dumped on top of the desk to be taken care of later. I need to take care of them NOW. Adam’s away to work for a couple of days during the next 2 weeks, so it would be nice to let him come home to some progress in there!

Things have come a LONG way, and I am proud of what I have accomplished so far. It doesn’t seem as daunting as it did 5 weeks ago. I can achieve the goal I set – 350 items in 10 weeks – or surpass it, if I stick to the plan for the next 5 weeks. We’ll have a lighter, brighter and more comfortable apartment that will feel like it has room to breathe and really be a home.

One Response to “TGU: The Progress”

  1. 1 Laura

    I might suggest twist ties for the tv/wii/dvd cables. they won’t hide them completely but it might make the pile a bit neater..?


Leave a Reply

