Ready, Set, Unclutter

22Apr08

I’ve been thinking on this for a while, and decided that today, Earth Day, would be a great day to start.

Here’s what I’m setting out to do: For the next 10 weeks, ending on July 1(Canada Day!), I want to find at least 5 things to remove from my home, every day. This will mean recycling, rehoming, regifting, and maybe even throwing out, approximately 350 items in a little over 2 months. We want to move, sometime in the next few months, and I cannot bear to think about moving all the things we have. Just the thought of boxing things up, hefting them in and out of apartments and trucks, and unpacking them again…. ugh. It gives me the heebiejeebies.

Part of me thinks that 350 is an impossibly large number, far more than we could possibly have in our little 2-bedroom basement apartment. A bigger part of me knows that we have far too much stuff, and that much of the stuff and clutter is mine. Too many items in our house don’t have a designated home (we’re way short on storage), and too many things have just moved and moved and moved with me without any real thought to what function they fill.

What I am sure will come from this is less clutter in our house, some great shoes and clothes for the charity clothing bins down the street, more thoughtfulness about how and why I bring things into the house, and calmer home that is more reflective of who we are and how we live.

If you’re interested in joining me, here are some good blogs to check out as you get started:

Happy Earth Day!

4 Responses to “Ready, Set, Unclutter”

  1. Good luck! It’s amazing how much stuff you find when you’re really looking. And it’s so smart to do it BEFORE you move!

  2. 2 Laura

    Wow, tons of good luck wishes for you dearie! I’m glad you’re set to do this – it is a major thing to do definitely good that you’re doing it before you move. 🙂

  3. 3 blubberbegone

    Yet again, another brilliant idea I’m going to nick. Thanks Marianne. ps. spiders eat flies and other bugs. If they’re not dangerous, I’ve learned to tolerate them (it took a while, but my zoologist hubby converted me to the greater good).

  4. 4 Marianne

    BBG – I know the spiders are useful, but after having a huge one IN MY BED a week or two ago, I don’t care. I’m happy for them to live joyful bug-eating lives outside, but not in my apartment. 😀


Leave a Reply

