Scrapers.

04Apr08

I don’t like people who are rude, and I don’t like it when I have to change my habits because of rude people.

Lately, I’ve added a whole new category of rude people – blog scrapers. These are people who are so pathetic to make a buck off someone else’s work that they troll RSS feeds, steal blog content, and post it on their own site with paying ads. As a result, I’ve had to change my feed to only show a summary – apologies to my friends who read the feed on LJ and such.

Scrapers – this is your heads up. You scrape me, and I will report you – to WordPress if you have a WordPress.com account, to Google if you are running AdSense ads, and so on.

One Response to “Scrapers.”

  1. I didn’t change my feed due to scrapers, largely because I don’t like partial feeds in my feed reader. I’m more likely to skip over them entirely than to click through to read more. Instead, I take a few minutes to look up the whois and contact their hosting company and the company who they are running ads through. Most ad places have problems with people using stolen content to generate revenue… I’ve had a few adsense accounts suspended and at least one website pulled by the hosting company.


Leave a Reply

