Dress: Impossible

01Apr08

This blog post originally appeared at Practice Living and may not be reproduced without permission. Don’t be a blog-scraping jerk.

I had been a big fan of Dinner: Impossible until I heard about Robert Irvine being fired for lying about his experience and qualifications. I just don’t enjoy watching the show now. I have less tolerance for his jerkish treatment of his helpers, and just find it much less exciting.

I’m not really concerned with MacGyvering together a dinner party, personally. But I do need a dress, and finding a dress might just be my own Dress: Impossible.

In May, I need a dress to wear under the gowns at convocation. Then, 2 weeks later, I need a dress to wear to my cousin’s wedding. I want to wear the same dress to both events – only my parents and Adam will be at both, so I can get away with the repeat.

Here’s where it begins to get more complicated. I need a dress that will be suitable for two climates – Vancouver in late May is mostly warm, but still has a fair amount of rainy weather; Ottawa in early June will be a little warmer and humid. While I’m at convocation, I’ll have the black gown-thingymajig on over the dress, mostly, so the temperature differences aren’t a huge deal. I need a dress that is grown up and dressy enough to say “look at me, I’m graduating and becoming a responsible adult YAY!”, but also casual and fun enough to say “yay for my cousin and his wife-to-be, now let’s PAR-TAY!”

A key component here is corralling my Rack o’ Doom. I need to not give my grandmother a heart attack at the wedding, as well as keeping it tasteful for convocation. This is easier said than done with the Rack o’ Doom.

To make this even more complicated, I need a dress that is under C$100, including shipping and duty, if I order online. I have found tons of appropriate, cute dresses online for more than $100 (Abby Z’s Goddess Dress, practically all the dresses at Kiyonna and the plus-sizes at Nordstrom’s, etc.), but few that are appropriate, cute and affordable.

I have approximately 6 weeks, so if I’m going to buy online, I need to get on it in the next 2 weeks. If I’m shopping in stores, I have a little more time.

So, to recap my needs:

  • available in extended straight sizes or plus-sizes (I usually wear a 16/XL, but it varies because of the Rack o’ Doom)
  • dressy enough for convocation and a wedding
  • warm enough for Vancouver in May without being too clingy for Ottawa in June
  • under $100 (including shipping/duty if buying online)

Help! I think that really rocking a cute dress at these two events will go a long way in terms of accepting my body as it is now, not as it may or may not be in the future. Plus, I am so happy about both these occasions that I want to reflect that in my clothing and attitude both days.

3 Responses to “Dress: Impossible”

  1. 1 Academic Pointillism

    Have you checked Ricki’s? I found my christmas time dress there for around $100. I don’t know if they have their summer dress selection in yet, but I bet it will be soon! Good luck… I feel your pain.

  2. 2 Marianne

    I haven’t – we don’t have any in Vancouver-proper, only out in the ‘burbs. I was there at Easter, when I was in Victoria, but I wasn’t thinking about dresses at the time.

  3. 3 Laura

    Oh boo, I totally stink at online shopping or else I would definitely help you find something fabulous. 😦 I like the dress ideas that you have so far though, as they would be appropriate to wear to both occasions. I hope you are able to find something similar to those styles.

    Je t’aime Mare, et bonne chance! 🙂


Leave a Reply

