The Happiness Project

17Feb08

Emily and I met in preschool. As far as we both remember, and our families tell us, we were buddies then too. The summer before Grade 7, I was in my mum’s office at the school, and she introduced me to “a new girl in your class, who you went to preschool with!” Em and I both pretended like we remembered each other, and off we went. We became friends, and have remained so past high school. Like any friendship, it’s had its highs and lows, as our lives took different paths, but now Emily and I have surprisingly and increasingly similar perspectives and approaches to life.

Emily recently started something she calls The Happiness Project, which she’s documenting on her Flickr. I loved the idea, and complimented her on it and the photos she’s posted so far. She suggested I start my own Happiness Project, and I think I’m going to take her up on it.

In Emily’s words, The Happiness Project came out of her decision “that every day I will post a picture of something that makes me happy. Sure, it’s corny, but whatever!”

For Lent, I had set out to add yoga into my weekly routines. Then I couldn’t get into the intro workshop I wanted, and feel that I need. I was all set to kick back and not choose a replacement “add in”, but the more I thought about it, the less right that felt. I needed something new, something positive to get me through Lent. I think that starting my own Happiness Project is it.

2 Responses to “The Happiness Project”

  1. 1 twofifteenandgo

    That is a really fantastic idea… It makes an astounding amount of sense to focus on the immediate, tangible happinesses of our lives.

    …I don’t suppose anyone would mind if I started one too? đŸ™‚

  2. 2 Marianne

    Thanks Jaime! I think you should do it!


Leave a Reply

