The truth, revealed!

15Feb08

Okay, here’s the truth about my Take a Guess post! Most of you were spot on in the upper 190s, low 200s. I’ve been fluctuating between 196-202 since this time last year.

One thing I found really interesting is that the guesses that were wrong were off by 15-30lbs, down in the 170s. I hadn’t expected two clusters of guesses, let alone clusters that far apart.

I had, honestly, hoped to get more responses to that post, even with some moral abstentions. I guess I have fewer readers than I hoped or my stats suggest. That, or everyone who reads me is struck speechless by my awesomeness. I choose to believe the latter, though it’s certainly the former.

There were a few reasons I wanted to do this. Partly to gain a better understanding of what my body’s reality is, since (as I explained in the original post), I have no idea what I look like or the true size of my body. I also wanted to do this because I am terrible at deciphering other people’s sizes. This ties back to me wanting to better understand my body – do I have a similar body to person X? Do person Y and I wear similar clothing sizes, or would what person Z is wearing look good on my body? I remember in the summer after first year, I was at work, and we were bored, so tried to guess each other’s weights – I was under-weighing the others by over 20lbs each time, and was surprised to hear that they weighed what they weighed. They looked so impossibly skinny to me, but were mostly in the 140-170lbs range.

These experiences, and this attempt at getting other people’s “vision” of me, has really highlighted for me how disconnected I have become from my body. I knew when I broke up with my mind and body, that this was likely going to come up, and that I would have to fumble my way through it.

I’m not really sure where to start, but I know it’s going to be a long, slow, imperfect process.

2 Responses to “The truth, revealed!”

  1. 1 twofifteenandgo

    /struck down by awesomeness.

    😀

  2. 2 Marianne

    Bwahaha, thanks Jaime. 😀


Leave a Reply

