Be a BABE

15Feb08

I heard recently about a group of students at Kwantlen, a local college, who are trying to convince city council to impose a $0.15 tax on plastic bags in grocery stores. So far, they’ve not had much success, but I think they have a great effort going. They’re calling their campaign “Bring a Bag Everywhere” or BABE. They have a LiveJournal, but it hasn’t been updated since June.

Whether or not they will be successful will depend, I think, on our civic election in November. This would be a great campaign promise for someone to pick up on, because our current mayor will never go for it.

Here’s my charge to my readers, now – if you aren’t already, become a BABE. It’s a simple change to make to your lifestyle that will add up to a huge effect on the environment. I typically either carry a massive bag (the cloth bags Lululemon gives out work great!) or tuck a canvas tote into my purse, so that I can turn down plastic bags as often as possible. Adam and I try to keep our canvas grocery bags in the trunk of his car, so that we can hit the store without bringing home thousands of bags that just sit under our kitchen sink, being useless, until we throw them out.

Be a BABE and give a little love to our planet. It deserves some Valentine’s love, too!

3 Responses to “Be a BABE”

  1. 1 Laura

    Zellers sells green reuseable shopping bags that fold up into a little sown-in pocket so you can carry it around in your purse without it taking up too much space. It also has a little clip on it if you want to chip it to the outside of a backpack, or to your key ring. I have one and it only cost 99 cents or something – it’s great!! It’s a fair size too so it actually holds a lot of stuff in it! 😀

    I heart reuseable things. ❤

    However, that aside, I do get the occasional plastic bag from the store because we use those in our house as garbage bags. It stinks that we still get them sometimes, but it saves us from having to buy those gigantic black garbage bags, which are quite wasteful as well. If you know of any good biodegradable garbage bags or something other than plastic then let me know. I’m love to be able to give up on plastic bags all together.

  2. 2 DJ

    I’m working on a one-day campaign to get people to switch to cloth bags and to refuse plastic bags on Earth Day this year (April 22nd).

    If you would like to help or spread the word, please contact me at djmackinnon@gmail.com

  3. 3 Marianne

    Ooh, thanks Laura, I’ll have to look for those little bags!

    DJ – I’ll be in touch, it just might take me a few days. 😀


Leave a Reply

