And it begins…

06Feb08

Today is Ash Wednesday, the beginning of Lent. I’ve finally decided what to give up and add in. I really appreciated the suggestions you all gave me; they really helped me narrow down what I want to achieve this year and what I want to reflect on. What I decided on is to give up GOSSIP and add in YOGA!

I’m waving goodbye to Perez and the MamaPop betches and Lainey and the Fug girls and… It’s all a little toxic, and I find myself caring too much about the lives of these people I don’t know. I don’t need that in my life, and hopefully this will allow me to focus more on myself and my relationships. It’s only 11am on Feb 6th, and already I’m having to remind myself NOT to make my usual morning visits to the gossip websites. Eeesh this is going to be TOUGH!

As for the yoga, I’m planning on 3 days a week at this point. I’ll start at home, then I’m going to sign up for Semperviva’s Absolute Beginners workshop, and either stay at home or go there for the remainder of Lent. Yay for trying new things and working on forming new habits!

4 Responses to “And it begins…”

  1. 1 Academic Pointillism

    My ex-practicum supervisor has a similar blog to yours at successmaybe.com
    She gave up celebrity gossip earlier this year and found it to be really great for her self esteem. If you need motivation it might be worth reading her entries on the process. Good luck! 🙂

  2. 2 Laura

    I have decided to try habit-forming this Lenten season as well. 🙂 I have decided that I want to form the habit of only having ONE write-off/cheat meal a week! I have been making unhealthy snacking and/or excessive consumption too regular in my daily routine and I need to get a handle on things.
    SO in the process of all of this, I will be refraining from having sweets, junk, unhealthy take-out, etc, etc, etc – however, One meal a week I will be able to have anything that I have been truly craving that week. Giving up all junk is good for testing will power but not a long term habit that is realistic for me, so by following this I’m hoping to form a new habit both in the way I eat, and in considering whether certain foods are worth it at random intervals during the day. “Is this brownie/donut/chinese food really worth counting as my cheat meal this week?” “Will I really be satisfied eating this bar of chocolate between classes opposed to going out with friends for wings in three days?” These are things that I want to work into my daily thought-process with food so that hopefully my current habit of eating blindly will subside.

    I wish you lots of luck with both of your goals this season – they both seem to be things that will benefit your health (in many capacities!) and I look forward to reading about it soon! *squish*

  3. 3 Marianne

    Ooh, thanks for the tip Jen, I’ll check her site out.

    Laura – your idea sounds great! I’m really drawn to the whole conscious decision-making that comes with Lent – really having to stop, slow down, and think. It’s too easy to get stressed and busy and just float through our daily decisions.

  4. What, no gossip? No celebrity news? No Schadenfreude?

    I’d die.

    The yoga sounds good, though.

    I’m giving up sitcoms for Lent. I have to admit: I’m addicted to them, and I know there are far better, more uplifting ways to spend my time than sprawled on the sofa for hours every evening shoving Bugles and potato chips in my mouth while watching yet another re-run of Friends or Everybody Loves Raymond.


Leave a Reply

