Letting Go.

18Jan08

Sometime in the next year, Adam and I are going to move out of our current place. It’s a decent apartment, but it was a place I choose after ages of desperate apartment hunting, so it wasn’t ideal. It’s a basement, so it’s cold and we get lots of spiders (ew), among other annoyances.

I got thinking the other day about what a move will involve – it’s not like I don’t know, because I’ve moved 7 times since Sept 2003. I want to be prepared though, so we can have a fairly stress-free move next time.

Moving means giving our notice, which means our landlords showing our apartment. To other people. So they’ll rent it. Which means we need to clean and de-clutter.

Crap.

It means packing all our worldly possessions, which are now the worldly possessions of two people, instead of just my stuff or just his stuff. It means putting all those things in boxes and bags and into a truck. Which means annoyance and heavy lifting. Which means minimizing the Random Boxes o’ Stuff. Which means minimizing what we own.

Crap.

I’ve long wanted to have a great, organized, visually- and physically-appealing apartment. A place that I feel comfortable in; a place that I am happy to entertain in. A place about which I don’t feel shame or anger or stress. A place that reflects my personality, and now, that reflects our personalities and life as a couple. I don’t feel that way about my current apartment, nor did I really feel it about my old duplex when I lived with the girls.

Today I came across the article “A Clutter Too Deep for Mere Bins and Shelves” by Tara Parker-Pope, in the New York Times online.

Wow.

Y’know how sometimes you read something, and you just go “Oh. That sounds like me. And they GET me. Huh.”? That’s how I felt reading this article. I’m not a hoarder, but I have always been cluttered and a little disorganized, but mostly brushed it off. I’ve been fighting it as long as I’ve been fighting my weight and my finances – since I moved out of my parents house and set out to “grow up.”

 

“Ms. Johnson says she often sees a link between her client’s efforts to get organized and weight loss. “I think someone decides, ‘I’m not going to live like this anymore. I’m not going to hold onto my stuff, I’m not going to hold onto my weight,’” she said. “I don’t know that one comes before the other. It’s part of that same life-change decision.”

[…] Dr. Peeke says she often instructs patients trying to lose weight to at least create one clean and uncluttered place in their home. She also suggests keeping a gym bag with workout clothes and sneakers in an uncluttered area to make it easier to exercise. She recalls one patient whose garage was “a solid cube of clutter.” The woman cleaned up her home and also lost about 50 pounds. “It wasn’t, at the end of the day, about her weight,” Dr. Peeke said. “It was about uncluttering at multiple levels of her life.” (From A Clutter Too Deep for Mere Bins and Shelves)

I’ve often thought that there has to be something that explains my tendencies with food, exercise, organization, and finances. There has to be some connection.

I still don’t know what the connection is, but this article shed some light on it, and has me doing some thinking and more “baby steps” thinking and more thinking about my “one little word” to TRY.

In the interests of TRYing and last week’s successful baby steps, here’s what the plan is for this weekend:

  • Do laundry.
  • As clean things come out of the dryer, sort into keep/fix/toss or donate piles.
  • Put things away from the Keep pile in between loads.
  • Walk to the bank for 10AM Saturday re: Brownie bank acct and walk home.
  • Write cheques for money owed to Brownies acct for cookies.
  • Clean off kitchen table.
  • Make a kick-ass dinner on Sunday and eat it AT the kitchen table.
2 Responses to “Letting Go.”

  1. 1 rhythmandthesea

    loud applause from the other side of the country!!!


  1. 1 Weekend Scorecard « Practice Living

Leave a Reply

