Stuff: Shoes, socks, and gadgets! Oh my!

14Jan08

As I wrote about last week, Sunday was shopping day. Now, I kept most of my promises from that post – got out for a trail-walk on Saturday, and did most of my shopping.

But.

I did wimp out on the bathing suit part of the expedition. I was just NOT in the right place, emotionally, to go stand under fluorescent lighting and try on bathing suits. It wouldn’t have been pretty or pleasant, and I probably would have ended up in tears.

So I just scrapped that part, and I’m glad I did.

Instead, I took the time to really test out a bunch of shoes at LadySport. I went in knowing that I would probably walk out with another pair of New Balance shoes, but was also prepared to be open minded about other brands.Β  I talked with a super helpful staff member who worked *only with me* (not multiple customers at a time!) and suggested other shoes to try, watched me walking in pair after pair, and didn’t pressure me at all. I knew there was a reason I liked that store!

After trying on loads of shoes and trying Adam’s patience (thanks bubba!), I left LadySport with over $200 in new toys. I was right about the shoes, and walked out with the new NBx 767s, which are as comfortable as slippers, light enough that I barely notice them, and so prettily white that I can’t wait to get them dirty. I picked up a couple pairs of Feetures Light socks, which are possibly my all-time favourite socks, to the point that I wish they made casual socks, too.

The most exciting of my new toys, though, is a teeny-tiny little gadget – the Nike+. I am really excited to get it set up and get tracking my walks (and eventually, runs) with it. I am so much better at getting out consistently when I can compete against myself, and I think this will be a good way to do that. Since I didn’t get the Nike+ shoes, I’ll be using a little shoe pouch on my laces, and we’ll see how well that goes.

Have any of you picked up new toys recently? Tell me about them!

6 Responses to “Stuff: Shoes, socks, and gadgets! Oh my!”

  1. oooh! have fun with the Nike+. I love when Lance comes on and congratulates me on a personal best. so awesome!

    I need to find me a new gadget!

  2. 2 Marianne

    All your posts about the Nike+ were what got me thinking about it in the first place! πŸ˜€ Do you have the shoes, or do you have a way of attaching it to non-Nike ones?

    New gadgets really are the greatest. Yay new toys!

  3. 3 Academic Pointillism

    I got a nike + too to go with the ipod will bought me for my birthday! Would you like to share stats to help motivate ourselves? (Trust me, it’ll make you feel good πŸ˜‰ I suck at running!) I put the little sensor in my sock (provide they’re tall enough) and that seems to work for me.

  4. 4 Marianne

    Oooh sure! It might be a few days before I get it going, because I need to finish transferring all my iPod stuff from the old computer to the new one. But once that is done, I’d love to!

  5. 5 Academic Pointillism

    That works. I haven’t actually got the ipod yet do to fedex fiascos, but we’ll work it out!

  6. I have the Nike thing for my non-Nike shoes, and it works fine as long as you firmly attach it somehow. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

