BLD Phase 2: Bye Bye French Fries

13Jan08

Today is the big day – my switch from the introductory phase of the Best Life Diet (Phase 1) to the more comprehensive, active Phase 2. Over the next couple days, I’ll be writing about what this means for my nutrition, physical activity, and emotional/mental efforts. Today is also the first day of a new The Biggest Loser Challenge at 3 Fat Chicks, and I am excited to reach my goal – 11lbs in 12 weeks.

As of today, six items are out of my diet for the foreseeable future. The BLD suggests staying on Phase 2 for a minimum of 4 weeks, or until you have less than 20lbs to goal wait, whichever is longer. The six items that are getting the boot are:

  1. Pop
  2. Trans Fats
  3. Fried Foods
  4. White Bread
  5. White Pasta
  6. Full-Fat Dairy

I rarely eat white bread or pasta as it is (whole grain is SO much tastier), and rarely drink pop except when I’m visiting my parents. Those three will get the boot easily. Trans fats should be easy once I get back in the habit of reading labels again; I used to avoid them and was good at remembering to check labels, but somewhere along the line I dropped that habit.

I think the part of this that will really be a struggle for me is the fried foods and high-fat dairy. French fries are one of my favourite things ever, and it’s going to take some serious thought and effort for me to kiss them goodbye. I picked up some pre-cut sweet potato fries at Costco, though, and they can be baked, so I’m hoping that will be a good alternative for me! Sweet potatoes are more nutritious than regular potatoes anyway, so that will be a big bonus.

Also – I drink skim milk, I enjoy low-fat yogurt, those will be no change so no issue! But cheese… oh that just might not be negotiable for me! I can’t stand cheeses that have had their fat removed – it’s just not right! I don’t think I can live a life that doesn’t include rich cheddars, smooth bries, and other as-God-intended high fat cheeses. BLD outright says NOT to eat very-low-fat cheese, because it’s disgusting, but suggests switching to lowER fat cheeses or limiting portion sizes. Ultimately, I don’t think that the strategies in BLD will be made or broken by my choice in cheese. If I stick to lower-fat dairy in the other dairy I ingest, I should be a-okay to keep watching my portions and eating full-fat cheese. (… Now I want cheese!)

I’ll be working harder at making balanced meals with whole grains, vegetables and/or fruit, protein and healthy fats, too. I am so stoked to combine this with my one-recipe-a-week project! I came across a great site recently, too, which has a whole section on Best Life Diet recipes. It’s going to be interesting to see how removing these items changes my diet as a whole – I know from experience that as I tend to avoid one or two ingredients, my other choices tend towards the healthful as well.

Tomorrow, I’ll write about what BLD Phase 2 suggests for physical activity. Let’s see what happens!

2 Responses to “BLD Phase 2: Bye Bye French Fries”

  1. I found your blog through my friend’s blog (Fat Chick Crafts), and I have to say, while I think that the BLD sounds like a very good thing, over all, I, too, would be wary of giving up cheese. Cheese is a staple in my diet.

    For what it’s worth, it is possible to lose weight by eating full-fat cheese. In the past ten months, I have lost around 50 pounds by simply making better choices and moving my body (that seemed to be the key for me). I still wrestle with some of the issues surrounding my weight/body, but for the most part, as long as I’m fueling my body with good, nourishing foods (which sometimes means cupcakes) and moving my body, I think that it all comes together. For me.

    Good luck as you figure this out!

  2. 2 Marianne

    Hi Erin! Thanks for stopping by.

    Yeah, full-fat cheese is here to stay, I’ll just be making better choices about it! I take the same opinion as you, that sometimes cupcakes are good and nourishing. 😀


Leave a Reply

