Exercise and PJ’s go together, really!

07Jan08

Yesterday went alright. I did, in fact, stay in my pj’s most of the day, but I also did our meal-planning for the week, and exercised while I watched Desperate Housewives. Adam and I made a mutual decision to hold off on grocery shopping until we know what his work schedule will be like for the week.

In my efforts with BLD, I’m trying to move my butt more. I’ve started getting my tush off the couch to do little mini-workouts while I watch TV in the evenings – sit ups, squats, push ups, that sort of thing. The old-school exercises that whipped me into shape when I was playing basketball in high school. I’ve been doing old barre exercises in the shower, too, playing with combinations of the exercises we used to do when I danced. When in doubt, go with what you know, right?

I’m already feeling a little stronger, a little more energized, and remembering how much I love the muscle burn that comes the day after hard work. I’m getting ready to really step up the exercise when I shift to BLD Phase 2 on January 13th – the same day a new challenge starts in one of the 3FC forums I frequent. I’ll write more about the shift to Phase 2 over the course of this week, to explain what will be changing for me.

My cousin Laura, whose name pops up from time to time in the comments (hi sweetie!), was telling me about her motivational timeline the other day, and I might just have to copy her idea. We’ve also been talking about doing the Grouse Grind together; Laura and her friend are doing a cross-Canada adventure this summer, and should be out this way in the summer. That would be a great “date” with the two of them, and knock off one of my 2008 goals, which is conveniently also one of my 101 in 1001 goals!

Baby steps, right?

8 Responses to “Exercise and PJ’s go together, really!”

  1. 1 Laura

    Hi hun! I’m glad I could be a source of motivation for you! You are often one for me when I read your posts so I’m glad I could return the favour. 🙂
    My timeline has been posted in the form of self-made calendars all over my door and the adjacent wall, with neon post-its to highlight all the events. It is very in-your-face, which is what I need right now! I’ve also added an extra box at the beginning of each week to write in goals, measurements, scale readings, etc. It’s Ab Fab darling, and I’m excited to use it 🙂

  2. What is BLD? When I first saw it, I thought it said, BLT and I thought, no there’s a plan I can follow, hahaha 🙂

    Glad you’re feeling motivated, that always helps get things off to a good start!

  3. 3 Marianne

    Hi Kyle, thanks for stopping by!

    BLD is the “Best Life Diet.” It’s a plan created by Bob Greene, the trainer who works with Oprah. It’s very focused on the mental aspects of weight loss, as well as gradual, sustainable changes. There’s some info on the website, this forum at 3 Fat Chicks, and under the “best life diet” category on my blog.

  4. Good for you for not letting the tequila knock you off track!

    And I never thought about exercising in my pj’s, hmm…. Actually, there’d be a bit too much floppage for me without a bra, but an interesting idea.

  5. 5 Marianne

    Thanks, Crabby!

    I wouldn’t ever do cardio in my PJs, because I would have serious floppage, but just to do pushups and squats and other things, I was okay in a tank top with a shelf bra to reign the girls in.

  6. Sometimes staying in your pj’s all day is the best thing on earth! really impressed you motivated yourself to work out in them!

  7. 7 Marianne

    EW – all-day PJ sessions are such a pleasure, aren’t they?

  8. 8 blubberbegone

    I loooove exercising in my PJ’s. It just makes it all seem so much more friendly and un-intimidating. I’m with the floppy cardio girl though. Need a bra if I’m moving at more than 1.5 miles an hour. Good for weights and pilates though.


Leave a Reply

