Baby Steps and SMART Goals

31Dec07

So my big goals for 2008 are:

  • Get to goal by eating well, moving more and taking care of myself. Right now I’m shooting for 160lbs, but I’ll reassess as I go along. This will happen before New Year’s Eve.
  • Try at least one new recipe a week and blog about it.
  • Get fit enough to run the 25th Fall Classic 5K in November and/or hike the Grouse Grind in the summer.

I have a variety of smaller goals (mostly things from my 101 in 1001 list), but these three are my big, SMART goals. These are the ones I really want to focus on, commit to, and make happen. These are the ones with timelines and baby steps.

I’ve realised over the course of 2007 that it’s not enough for me to have goals, even if they are “SMART” ones. I need to break the goal down even further into baby steps and mini-goals. If I focus on the overall goal, I get overwhelmed, I panic, and I get caught up in my head with thoughts that start with “I can’t” and go downhill from there. So I haven’t just decided to go after those goals, I’ve decided to concentrate on each little baby step, each milestone that will get me to my goals.

How am I going to get fit enough to run the Fall Classic or hike the Grouse Grind?

  • In January, I’ll buy a new pair of running shoes.
  • I’ll commit to at least two 30 minute walks a week in January.
  • I’ll commit to at least three 30 minute walks a week in February.
  • On February 11, when registration opens, I’ll sign up for the Fall Classic.
  • I’ll commit to at least four 30 minute walks a week in March.
  • I’ll join a Learn to Run or For Women Only clinic at one of my local Running Rooms, starting in March.
  • I’ll run three times a week during the clinic (March-April-May-June).
  • I’ll set further “baby step” goals during the clinic to set myself up for success.

How am I going to try at least one new recipe a week and blog about it?

  • I’ve gone through my cookbooks, new and old, and tagged recipes that I think we’ll like, and I’m capable of doing.
  • I’ll write about my commitment so that I am accountable to other people.
  • I’ll involve Adam in my goal, so I’m accountable to him and encouraged by him!
  • I’ll remind myself how satisfying it is to eat food that I have worked on and put love into.
  • I’ll remind myself how much healthier and cheaper it is to eat well at home.
  • I’ll plan my menu for the week ahead of time, so I’m not scrambling for ideas or ingredients.

How am I going to get to goal by the end of 2008?

  • I will focus on smaller goals – 5 lbs at a time – so I don’t get overwhelmed by the total number.
  • I’ll continue to blog here about what’s going on.
  • I will participate at the 3FC forums regularly, getting and giving support.
  • I will work on my other two Big Goals as strategies to eat more healthfully and move my butt more.
  • I’ll remember my one little word for 2008 and TRY.
  • I will structure my life so that I can eat well, have time to move, and get sufficient sleep.
  • I’ll keep working on the Best Life Diet.
  • I will find new ways to manage stress.

So those are the plans, as they stand on New Year’s Eve 2007. I’m leaving room for changes and additions, so that I can be adaptable to life and whatever else pops up. I won’t let myself get paralyzed by the big picture, and I’ll focus more on making smaller, manageable changes. Bit by bit, I’ll make these goals reality.

I’m not surprised by the number of people who set New Year’s resolutions and then bail on them. The big picture can be pretty terrifying and overwhelming. What are you doing to make your resolutions stick and your goals reality?

6 Responses to “Baby Steps and SMART Goals”

  1. I like your goals!! Grouse and a 5k are TOTALLY doable. I wish I was on the west coast. the grind is AMAZING 🙂 But I bet you’re going to amaze yourself with your ability to run that you may get beyond that 5k quicker than you think 😉

    and personally, I can’t wait to read about the recipes 😛 YUMMERS!

    Best of luck and happy new year!

  2. 2 Academic Pointillism

    can I just copy your post into my blog? 😉 Good luck! You sound like you’ve got excellent plans. Happy new year to you and adam!!

  3. 3 Marianne

    Thanks for the encouragement ladies! Happy New Year to you both! Jen – hey, if you want to have the same goals, I’m happy to encourage that. 😀

  4. 4 Laura

    Awesome goals hun! Definitely a good place to start. 🙂
    I don’t know when you are planning on hiking the Grouse Grind exactly, but if I’m in town when you do then maybe Kristy and I might just join you on that excursion!

  5. 5 Marianne

    Laura, that would be awesome! Do you know yet when you two will being having your Great Canadian Adventure?

  6. 6 Laura

    Mare – we haven’t made too many plans yet about the trip, due to not being in the same place at the same time. However, we just reunited tonight and had our first “when/how the heck are we going to do this?!” conversation tonight, lol. One of many I’m sure. We’re thinking July and August at this point – no concrete plans yet though. Keep you posted! *squish*


Leave a Reply

