One Little Word 2008

30Dec07

When I started thinking about my “one little word” for 2008, I drew a complete blank. I really had no ideas at first – not a single word came to mind. The more I thought and prayed and thought and thought about it, the more words popped out at me. I went from no ideas to way, way too many. Many of them would be great words, but just didn’t feel quite right.

The one word that I kept coming back to, though, was “try.”

It’s just my size! This will be a great word for my 2008. There are so many goals I have set (more on those soon!), things I want to experience, and changes I want to make. At their hearts, they all share a need for me to try – try harder, try new things, try different methods.

“You may be disappointed if you fail, but you are doomed if you don’t try.” Beverly Sills”For us, there is only the trying. The rest is not our business.” T.S. Eliot

“The men who try to do something and fail are infinitely better than those who try nothing and succeed.” Lloyd Jones

“Don’t bother just to be better than you contemporaries or predecessors. Try to be better than yourself.” William Faulkner

You’ll find all my posts about my 2008 “one little word” under the “One Little Word: Try” category. More info about the concept of “one little world” is available at Lawren Coope’s blog, especially this post and this post.

3 Responses to “One Little Word 2008”

  1. Hi Marianne…your TRY quotes are finally up on the blog so come see! Lawren

  2. 2 Marianne

    Thanks Lawren! They look great!


  1. 1 Baby Steps « Practice Living

Leave a Reply

