One Little Word 2007: Faith

26Dec07

Inspired by Lawren Coope, I chose faith as my “one little word” for 2007. I loved this idea, loved the reminder and connection to the word that developed. The posts associated with my one little word are all together here. More info about “one little world” is available at Lawren’s blog, especially this post and this post.

I thought I would blog about it more than I did, but this word did stay with me. This year was one in which my relationship with faith changed a lot! Faith in myself, faith in other people, faith in the world, and my spiritual/religious faith.

Faith has been a good little word for me for 2007. It has become a comfortable, comforting, challenging word – it soothes me, and pushes me to relate and think differently.

But, 2007 is coming to a close, and it’s time to start thinking about what my “one little word” will be for 2008. I have a few ideas, but I’m waiting for the one that feels just right. When I first read about this idea on Lawren’s blog, faith was the first word that came to mind, and it felt perfect. The ideas I’ve had for 2008 so far don’t feel just quite right, but I’m sure I will come up with something soon.

As it is, my 2007 was full of faith. I felt like I closed off my (not quite) year of faith at church on Christmas Eve, when I felt connected to myself, to family and community, to the world, and to my beliefs. Faith will still, always be a big word for me, I think, but I need a new word for 2008. I’m settled into faith now, and need to move on to a new focus and effort.

What will your one little word for 2008 be?

One Response to “One Little Word 2007: Faith”

  1. Hi Marianne! Thanks for writing about One Little Word! I’ve been struggling a bit with my word for 08 but I think I’ve nailed it down. I’ll post it on my blog on the 6th (after our Word Up! party). I really could have used my 08 word on Christmas this year — my 3 year old got a hold of a pair of scissors and cut her own hair…yikes. RELAX (my 07 word) came in handy — after yelling/crying for a few minutes, I locked myself in my closet, called my mom and we laughed our @#$es off!
    http://www.lawrencoope.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

