BLD Week 1

17Dec07

Well, I’ve done one week. Yay!

It’s a slow adjustment, which I’m allowing myself. I think that Phase 1 will end up being 6-10 weeks long for me, rather than the minimum 4 weeks. I’ve done well with the eating breakfast, lunch, dinner and a snack every day. I’ve been exceptionally good at not eating within 2 hours of bedtime, as well. I’ve had a couple glasses of wine, rather than no alcohol, but I’m not overly concerned about that. I’m moving a little more, by walking around doing errands or doing some exercises with my resistance band; I still have a LOT of room for improvement here. I’ve done poorly on taking a multivitamin, calcium or omega-3 supplements, because I’m too broke to buy them right now! Once I have the money, I’ll get going on that.

The book also suggests no weighing in for the first four weeks… yeah, that’s not going to happen! I have gained since starting, but the book does suggest that this sometimes happens, but is more of a fluctuation than a true gain. I’ve been focusing on getting all these goals dealt with each day, and not paying much attention to what or how much I’m eating. A little more awareness and the gain should disappear and I’ll be back on track.

One thing I’m realising will be valuable as I do BLD is a food journal. Today or tomorrow after work, I’m going to stop at the dollar store and find a small, pretty journal I can throw in my purse and keep track of what I eat. I’m most interested in what I’m NOT eating, so that I can tweak my diet and nutrients.

Today is the beginning of week 2, and I’m looking forward to this being a better week than last week. Week 3 includes Christmas, so I’m starting to think about how I will manage being at home for a week – my eating habits are very different at my parents house than at my own!

2 Responses to “BLD Week 1”

  1. I’ll be curious to see how this plan works out–I think you’re really smart to focus first on health, and the food journal sounds like an excellent idea.

    Good luck with it!

  2. 2 Marianne

    Thanks Crabby, I’ll keep posting about it and we’ll see how it works out!


Leave a Reply

