Dear Santa

28Nov07

Over at the Diet Pulpit, Lady Rose has posted her “Dear Santa” letter. She asked for all kinds of great fitness gadgets and gizmos, including my dream pedometer (not Mac-compatible or shippable to Canada, unfortunately). She’s encouraging other bloggers to think about and post their own Dear Santas, and I’ve been inspired to do my own!

Dear Santa,

I think I’ve been really good this year! I’ve made huge progress at work, I’m wrapping up school, and I think I’ve been good to the people I love. I’ve worked hard at being good to myself, too, by exercising more, eating better and trying to manage my health more proactively. No coal for me, please!

Instead, I would really love a great rain jacket from MEC. I could wear it almost year-round, depending on layering under it, and it would let me go for walks in the crummy Vancouver fall weather. A swimsuit would be really great, too, because then I can start aquacizing again!

Something that would be really great would be a gift certificate for a new pair of running shoes and a learn-to-run clinic. I love my New Balance runners, but they need to be replaced desperately, and the new NBx line even comes out in January! Plus, then I could do a learn-to-run clinic, at somewhere like the Running Room or LadySport, or through SportMedBC.

I’d really love a pedometer, like the one Lady Rose is asking for, but I can’t find any that fit my needs – goes in the pocket or on a belt and uploads info to the computer (Mac-compatible).

Some neat kitchen gadgets would be nice, because they always encourage me to get my butt into the kitchen and get creative and healthy with my cooking.

Finally, what I’d really like is motivation and determination. 2007 saw less success than I would have liked, and I know that much of that comes from my lack of commitment to myself. If I weren’t losing weight but I was consistently eating well and exercising, that would be okay; but, I’m not eating well or exercising enough, AND I’m not losing. Please bring me my drive back, Santa.

xo,
marianne

PS: I still want world peace, a safe home for everyone, and a higher minimum wage. I know you’re working on it. šŸ˜€

PPS: A subscription to TheBestLife.com would be great, because I think I need a plan and I think it’s the one for me.

There are other things I’m hoping to get for Christmas, but mostly they aren’t related to health, fitness, or nutrition, so I’ll leave those out of this letter.

What do you want for Christmas?

9 Responses to “Dear Santa”

  1. Lol. I love your P.S.

  2. Great list – thanks for sharing. I’ve added your link. šŸ™‚

  3. 3 practiceliving

    Thanks Sally and Lady Rose!

  4. 4 Academic Pointillism

    Have you seen the pedometer that hooks onto ipod nanos? Will has one and I occasionally borrow it and it makes me drool.

    Jen

  5. 5 practiceliving

    Ooohh no I haven’t Jen! I’ll definitely look into it, thanks for the tip!

  6. 6 Academic Pointillism

    Here’s the link to the apple store but you can also get it at places like sport chek. It’s got a little sensor that you’re supposed to put into your special nike shoe, but we just put it in our sock, or you can make/buy a little pocket to tie to your shoe laces.

    the output is pretty cool… it hooks into your itunes, gives you a visual graph of your run, lets you set goals, prompts you how much further you have to go in your goal through your headphones and compare goals with other people online.

  7. 7 Academic Pointillism

    oops sorry, that was the link to the replacement sensor. here’s the right link:
    http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APPLE/WebObjects/canadastore.woa/wa/RSLID?mco=8B5C555B&nplm=MA365ZM/B

  8. 8 Marianne

    Jen – thanks for the links, that looks amazing! I almost always have my nano on when I go for a walk, so this might just fit the bill for me.


  1. 1 My Christmas List - The Diet Pulpit

Leave a Reply

