NaBloPoMo: Q is for Questions

20Nov07

For the month of November, I’ll be participating in NaBloPoMo. This means a blog post every single day! To give myself some help coming up with 30 posts, I’m going to follow a pattern. Monday through Saturday each week, I will blog on a letter of the alphabet; Sundays will be whatever I come up with! You can read all my NaBloPoMo alphabet posts here and the Sunday posts here

Questions – I’ve got a lot of ’em!

In three weeks (THREE WEEKS!) I’ll be done my bachelor’s degree. In the last few months, I’ve written a lot about my uncertainty about my future. Well, that’s still around.

What comes next?

How quickly do I have to figure it all out?

What do I want? What do I need? How am I going to balance my wants and needs?

Do I need more formal education? Am I right to think that I can always go back to university later in life, if I want to change career paths or get more education in sociology? How can I make sure that education (in some form) remains part of my life?

And those are just the tip of the iceberg! If you had asked me, five years ago, if I thought I’d have all the answers by the time I graduated, I would have said “duh, of course!”

Now, I have even more questions than I did five years ago! The reality of adulthood continues to slowly set in, and my uncertainty about what I want hasn’t gone away.

I know that I have time to figure it all out, but I’m impatient and I hate uncertainty. I want to know what comes next, what my next step is.

Eeesh.  Questions.

2 Responses to “NaBloPoMo: Q is for Questions”

  1. 1 blubberbegone

    Absolutely you can go back to university later in life for more of the same or a complete career change. I did, in my 30s, and got much more out of it than I did in my 20s, because I’d already done all my growing up (well, most of it anyway) and was much more focused on what I was studying). As a result, I enjoyed my subject much more and excelled on every course. I was that Stepford-student that all the younger students hated. Got a university medal too, and a whole new career. Two of them.

    So don’t just rush into graduate education unless you’re sure what you really want to do. Get a job, anything really, and that will help you crystallize the direction you want to go in. And get this, you are allowed to change your mind. As often as you want. The decisions you make now do not need to be the right ones – you will not be bound by them forever. Once you realize that, it gets much easier.

    And, by the way, CONGRATULATIONS on finishing your degree.

    Angie x

  2. 2 practiceliving

    Thanks for the comment, Angie. Great insights, I really appreciate it!


Leave a Reply

