NaBloPoMo: P is for Paintings and Photography.

19Nov07

For the month of November, I’ll be participating in NaBloPoMo. This means a blog post every single day! To give myself some help coming up with 30 posts, I’m going to follow a pattern. Monday through Saturday each week, I will blog on a letter of the alphabet; Sundays will be whatever I come up with! You can read all my NaBloPoMo alphabet posts here and the Sunday posts here.

P is for paintings and photographs!

My mum is in town to go to a meeting today, and she decided to come over Sunday afternoon so we could go see the Georgia O’Keefe and Roy Arden exhibits at the Vancouver Art Gallery. I am a lucky gal, because instead of paying admission, my mum bought me a student membership! She got in for free with one of the guest passes, and now I can go anytime! I do love the art gallery, and have always wished I could go more often, but at $10 a visit for students, it was too pricey.

The O’Keefe exhibit was amazing. Her use of colour and abstraction was stunning, and the photographs of her were breathtaking. I especially loved “Sky Above White Cloud” and “Abstraction – Blue.” Amazing.

The Arden exhibit was really interesting. They had one floor of Arden’s works, and another half-floor was work that Arden had chosen from the Gallery’s photography collections. That half-floor was all pictures of cityscapes; some were of Vancouver, others were from all over the world.

It was a really lovely thing to share with my mum – I’m so glad we went.

So today, P is for paintings and photography. Thanks Mum!

PS: Jill and I walked the Fall Classic 5K on Sunday morning. I was amazed at how well organised the event was, even with three different races going! Our net time was 48:44, with a 9:45 pace.  That’s an improvement over our last 5K, which we finished in 50:02. Nowhere to go from here except BETTER!

One Response to “NaBloPoMo: P is for Paintings and Photography.”


  1. 1 » NaBloPoMo: P is for Paintings and Photography.

Leave a Reply

