NaBloPoMo: N is for Nom Nom Nom.

16Nov07

For the month of November, I’ll be participating in NaBloPoMo. This means a blog post every single day! To give myself some help coming up with 30 posts, I’m going to follow a pattern. Monday through Saturday each week, I will blog on a letter of the alphabet; Sundays will be whatever I come up with! You can read all my NaBloPoMo alphabet posts here and the Sunday posts here.

Inspired by Meghan’s new Domestic Wannabe blog and her quest to be domesticated (hee!), I present N is for Nom Nom Nom… also know as Yay! Recipes!

i has many corns

Even though Adam does most of the cooking around our house (he’s way better than I am! I burn things. Not good.), I do love a good recipe. My love for recipes is probably my mother’s fault; in my parents house, there is this great bookshelf built into the half-wall separating the TV room from the kitchen hallway. One side of it is full of cookbooks and a binder full of recipes that my mum has saved over the years. I covet recipes. I have my own baby-binder, which looks pathetic in comparison to my mum’s.

Recipes. Love ’em.

So in honour of Meghan and the upcoming Christmas (Hanukkah, Kwanzaa, Snow, Holiday, WHATEVER) season, here are some of my favourite “OH crap I need a gift” or “OH crap I’m going to a potluck and forgot” recipes. I’m going to tease you with just one now, and add a couple more tonight.

Mint Chocolate Truffle Cookies (I originally found this on KraftCanada.com, but I’ve seen it on AllRecipes and other places too.)

Prep time: 15 Mins Total time: 2.5 hours-ish
Makes approx. 40 cookies.

Ingredients

  • 6 (1 ounce) squares Baker’s semi-sweet baking chocolate
  • 3/4 cup butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 3/4 cups flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 box of candy canes (pick your flavour, but it’s best with the basic minty ones)
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Microwave chocolate and butter in large microwaveable bowl on HIGH 2 min. or until butter is melted.
  3. Stir until chocolate is all melted. Add the sugar and mix well.
  4. Add the eggs, one at a time – each time you add one, you want to mix until it’s well combined.
  5. Add combined flour and baking powder and (again, surprise!) mix well. The dough should be very soft.
  6. Cover and refrigerate at least 2 hours. The original recipe said go as long as 24hours, but I’m too impatient for that. While you wait, put on a fun Christmas movie and do the following: unwrap some of those candy canes, and throw them in a ziploc bag. Wrap the bag in a tea towel, and then whack the hell out of it with something heavy (to break up the candy canes). Set aside 1/3-1/2 cup of the crushed up bits, and enjoy eating the rest. Mmmmm.
  7. Once the dough has chilled out in the fridge for a couple hours, roll heaping teaspoonfuls of dough into 1-inch balls.
  8. Place 2 inches apart on greased baking sheets. The greasing is KEY – these little bad boys stick!
  9. Bake 10 to 12 min. or until tops are set. Do not overbake – they aren’t meant to be HARD, but done on the outside and nice and soft inside.
  10. Immediately sprinkle with crushed candy canes.
  11. Cool 1 min. on baking sheets. Remove to wire racks; cool completely.
  12. If they are a present, don’t gorge on them. Actually, even if they aren’t a present, you should try not to eat a thousand of them in one go. (Key word: TRY. These are delicious.)

One cookie has approximately 107 calories, 6.1 g fat (3.6g sat. fat), 20mg cholesterol, 43 mg sodium, 13.3 g carbohydrate, 0.8 g fibre, and 1.3g protein.

Update: under the jump, you’ll find three more recipes – two of my favourites (Cheesy Chicken and Fruit Salsa) and one I am dying to try (Drunken Cheesy Bread).

Cheesy Chicken (This made frequent appearances on the dinner table when I was a kid – I still LOVE it!)

Ingredients

3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1/4 tsp pepper
3 tbsp oil
1 10oz can cream of chicken soup
1/2 cup mayonnaise
1 tsp curry powder
1 tsp lemon juice
1 cup grated cheddar cheese

Cut chicken into 2in by 4in (approx) pieves and sprinkle with pepper. Saute them slowly in oil over medium heat, until white and opaque (about 6mins), then drain. Place chicken in a casserole dish.

Mix soup, mayo, curry and lemon juice together and pour over the chicken. Sprinkle the top with cheese.

Bake uncovered for 30-35minutes – I *think* at 350F because that is my mum’s “default” temperature, but if anyone is interested in making this, I can confirm that with her.

This is yummiest served over brown rice with broccoli on the side.

Serves 4-6 and is GREAT for leftovers.

Fruit Salsa (This is really yummy with chips or over chicken!)

1 diced tomato
1 cup chopped mango, papaya OR peaches
2 tbsp chopped fresh coriander
2 tbsp chopped red onion
1 tbsp lime juice
1/2 tsp granulated sugar
pinch each of salt and pepper

Stir all ingredients together.
Cover and refrigerate for at least 1 hour.

Now, the recipe I am dying to try! I think this would be so great for a brunch, or with dinner on a stormy night.

Drunken Cheesy Bread

butter for the pan
1/2 baguette, cut into 2-inch slices
1/2 small yellow onion, thinly sliced
1/8 lb. thinly sliced cooked ham (might be good with prosciutto, instead?)
3/4 white wine
1/2 tsp black pepper
1.5 cups (6oz) grated Gruyere (Can substitute Swiss, Monterey Jack, fontina or white cheddar)

Heat oven to 400F.

Place the bread in a buttered ovenproof skillet, a 9in square baking dish, or a casserole. Scatter the onion and ham over the bread. Pour the wine over top and sprinkle with pepper and the cheese.

Bake until the cheese has melted and begun to brown at the edges, about 20minutes. Spoon onto individual plates.

Serves 4-6.

Okay, now that I’ve typed those up, I’m soooo hungry. Off to make an easy dinner with Adam – we’re having breakfast for dinner. Scrambled eggs, hash browns, and garlic toast. Yum!

One Response to “NaBloPoMo: N is for Nom Nom Nom.”

  1. ohmigod, I love you and this recipe! I can’t wait to try them out


Leave a Reply

