NaBloPoMo: H is for Home sweet home.

09Nov07

For the month of November, I’ll be participating in NaBloPoMo. This means a blog post every single day! To give myself some help coming up with 30 posts, I’m going to follow a pattern. Monday through Saturday each week, I will blog on a letter of the alphabet; Sundays will be whatever I come up with! You can read all my NaBloPoMo alphabet posts here.

Yup, today, H is for home. Today I’m heading home to Victoria for a weekend visiting my parents, seeing my best friend, and generally relaxing. This will be a shorty because I’ve got things to finish up before I head out.

I’m happy to call two great cities home, and to be able to go back to my hometown so often. I’m very lucky to live close enough to go home to Victoria for a weekend visit without too much effort or trouble.

I think one of my favourite parts of going back and forth between my two home cities is taking the ferry. Sure, I gripe about it like anyone else from southern BC, but I do enjoy it, too. The things I hate about it (the crowds, the food, the waiting) don’t take away from what I love about riding the ferry. That ride over the Strait of Georgia and through the Gulf Islands is stunning, especially if you’re lucky enough to be crossing during sunset. Even after my many many trips across, the scenery never fails to take my breath away and make me thankful to live here.

So I’m going home, for the weekend, and I’m going to soak up every ounce of beauty and calm I can on the ferry, and every ounce of love and relaxation and comfort I can while I’m with my parents. I’ll have a post up tomorrow and Sunday, thanks to NaBloPoMo, but they’ll likely be short ones.

No Responses Yet to “NaBloPoMo: H is for Home sweet home.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

