NaBloPoMo: E is for Education

06Nov07

For the month of November, I’ll be participating in NaBloPoMo. This means a blog post every single day! To give myself some help coming up with 30 posts, I’m going to follow a pattern. Monday through Saturday each week, I will blog on a letter of the alphabet; Sundays will be whatever I come up with! You can read all my NaBloPoMo alphabet posts here.

Today marks 34 days until I finish my bachelor’s degree.

Wow.

In 34 days, I will have achieved something I’ve wanted as long as I can remember.

Sooo… what now?

I am constantly asked what I’m going to do in January, and people are often taken aback when I reply “I have no idea!” People expect me to have it all figured out, when, to be honest, I think I have things less figured out now than I did when I first came to university.

The one thing I do know is that this will not be the end of my education. I believe that learning should be lifelong – we can always, always learn knew skills and ways of thinking. What I don’t know is where my learning goes from here. Do I consider further structured education, like a master’s, a second bachelor’s, or skills training at a college? Do I pursue new skills?

I’m ready for whatever the next adventure is, and I’m so excited to keep learning.

4 Responses to “NaBloPoMo: E is for Education”

  1. Its two years since I graduated and I still don’t have a real idea what I “want” to do, so you are not alone. I may do a masters next summer too, we’ll see. What is your field?

  2. 2 practiceliving

    I’m certainly trying to remember that I don’t have to have it all figured out right away! I’ll be graduating with a Bachelor of Arts, and I majored in sociology and minored in psychology. What is yours?

  3. It is such an exciting time. The world is spread out before you, waiting for you to make a decision. Have you read _What Should I Do With My Life?_ by Po Bronson. It’s such an awesome, affirming book to read when you are trying to figure out what’s next.

  4. 4 practiceliving

    I haven’t read that, Sally, I’ll look into it! Thanks for the tip, and for stopping by.


Leave a Reply

