NaBloPoMo Sunday #1

04Nov07

Today I’m going to be brief, because homework and housework are calling me.

Today I have a question for you, readers* – what do you do to relax? What are the little every day things and the bigger, once-in-a-while treats that make life a little easier?

My every day things: taking a few minutes in the morning and at night to pray or meditate; having a little snuggle and chat with my boyfriend before we go to sleep; watching Jeopardy with the boy every weeknight; and I try to get in at least one “just called to chat for a few minutes” call to a friend every day.

My once-in-a-while things: pedicures; lazy Sundays on the couch with a couple or books or movies; a day at the beach or on the trails at UBC with a friend; sitting on the ferry between Victoria and Vancouver at sunset with nothing but my iPod.

I think we all need these relaxing things, every day and once in a while. Letting go of the world, and focusing inwards or out to the world for a while, is a break from the speed and busyness of life.

*Now, I know there are more of you than my comments would suggest. I see the blog stats, so – SPEAK UP, readers! 😉

2 Responses to “NaBloPoMo Sunday #1”

  1. Yoga! While some of the poses are quite strenuous, you are forced to regulate your breathing and stretch out, which in the end is very, very relaxing. Treat yourself to a steam/hot bath and cup of detox tea afterwards. I do this at least once a week, although I aim for three.

    I also attend a meditation group on Sunday nights. This helps center my mind and give me a connection to both the universe and other people (the latter of which can sometimes be sorely lacking since I do 75% of my work from my home office).

  2. 2 practiceliving

    Y’know, I’ve done yoga before, but never regularly. It’s certainly on my list of things to get back into, because it is amazing. I always leave feeling so centred and… gooey because I feel so loose.


Leave a Reply

