NaBloPoMo: C is for Cookie!

03Nov07

For the month of November, I’ll be participating in NaBloPoMo. This means a blog post every single day! To give myself some help coming up with 30 posts, I’m going to follow a pattern. Monday through Saturday each week, I will blog on a letter of the alphabet; Sundays will be whatever I come up with! You can read all my NaBloPoMo alphabet posts here.

As much as people would like to disagree, sometimes, food really is the answer.  When food is made with love and care, I believe our bodies feel that. Maybe the nutritional content doesn’t change, but the influence on our bodies and minds can.

In my family, one of our treasured foods is ‘grandma cookies’. My grandma makes the most delicious chocolate chip oatmeal cookies you will ever have, full of love, kindness, comfort and care.

My mum makes these cookies, too, and they are just the same as Grandma’s.

These cookies have some power, people.

When I came to university, my mum sent Grandma cookies with me. Everyone I met *loved* them, and it certainly did set off some of my earliest friendships in res.

When A and I were in Ontario in the summer for C and CG’s wedding, we stopped at my Grandma’s for lunch. She sent us home with Grandma cookies, and we got to feel the love from Grandma even after we got home.

It’s because of foods like Grandma cookies that I’m not dieting. I am eating carefully, thinking about what I eat so that I can eat the things that make me feel warm, fuzzy, and satiated.

Thanks, Grandma, for giving this to our family. Today, C is for Cookie, and for you.

2 Responses to “NaBloPoMo: C is for Cookie!”

  1. 1 Laura

    *teary eyed*
    Those cookies do have some power to them, and definitely a lot of love in them.

    That post reminds me of Aunt J’s toast to Grandma at J&S’s wedding and falls under great-tributes-to-Grandma-K.

    love you Mare!

  2. 2 practiceliving

    Laura – love you too!

    So glad the cookies mean so much to you. too.


Leave a Reply

