Waiting Impatiently

20Sep07

I went to see my doctor today, and filled her in on my fatigue and other symptoms.

I have to make an appointment with the lab to get a variety of blood tests in the next week. She wants me tested for anemia and thyroid disorders, as I expected, but she also wants me to be tested for diabetes.

Yikes.

I should know by this time next week whether any of those is what’s making me crazy. If none of those are It, then I have to schedule a full physical and we’ll go from there. We did a lot of talking about “if this … then that …” so I know what to expect over the next week or two.

Needless to say, I haven’t really been making much of an effort on the Ct5K front this week. I’m eating healthfully, just not being too concerned with portion sizes. I can only concentrate on so much, so my goal for the next two weeks is to maintain. If I lose, hooray! If not, I’m not going to be put off.

I’ll keep you all posted.

2 Responses to “Waiting Impatiently”

  1. 1 Melissa

    I stumbled across your blog today. I have been on Flovent for Asthma for about 13 years now and in 13 years I have gained 125 pounds. I am starting to think this is a result of taking Flovent. I have tried every diet known to man and I exercise at least 3x a week. Please let me know if your Dr. attributes your weight gain at all to Flovent. My asthma Dr. has been putting this possiblity off for years, but I am now going to go to a naturalist and see if getting of the Asthma meds will aide in losing weight.
    Thanks

  2. 2 practiceliving

    Hi Melissa – thanks for your comment!

    I don’t attribute my weight gain to Flovent, but I do wonder if it makes it more difficult to get weight OFF. Most of my weight was gained before I went on Flovent, mostly because of the sedentary, emotional-eating lifestyle I was leading.

    Best of luck to you!


Leave a Reply

