Thank You!

30Aug07

I was thinking this morning, on the bus, how much we under-use the phrase “thank you.” Maybe it’s a product of growing up in a smaller city than I live in now, maybe it’s my parents’ dedication to respect and good manners, maybe people are just jerks, maybe it’s something else entirely.

I say thanks to my bus drivers, every morning and every night, because they get me to work and home again, safely and quickly; that always seems to get me a weird look from my fellow Vancouverites. I try to say thanks to strangers when they hold a door for me, tell me I’ve dropped my keys on the bus, or pay me a compliment. I think those simple words have a lot of meaning, and convey a lot of respect.

Today I owe a HUGE thank you to the lovely folks at Elastic Waist. Since they linked to me yesterday afternoon, I have had a ridiculous jump in traffic. Compared to this time last week, today had more than twice as many hits. Neat-0!

Now if I can just figure out a neat trick to make all you visitors comment more, I’ll be one happy little camper!

3 Responses to “Thank You!”

  1. 1 Punch the Keys

    Hi,

    Thanks for the comment. I just started reading your blog – it’s quite inspirational. I’ve started the Couch-to-5K plan, but like you, I got sick right away so I haven’t been able to keep going. Also, I love your list. I find now that I’m out of school, goals aren’t so laid out for me, so creating something that I have a chunk of time to take care of has made the prospect of 3 years of 9-5 days a little more bearable. Thanks again, and I look forward to keeping up with your goals and mine.

    Sincerely,
    PTK.
    P.S. Congrats on the Elastic Waist link.

  2. I saw thank you a lot! It’s all about good karma!

  3. That should be SAY, not SAW


Leave a Reply

