QOTW: Faith

29Aug07

“Take the first step in faith. You don’t have to see the whole staircase. Just take the first step.” -Martin Luther King, Jr.

I’ve written previously about faith being my “one little word.”

The next few months are going to take a lot of faith. Faith in myself, in other people, in The Man Upstairs. There is so much uncertainty in the coming months – will I/can I lose this weight, run the 5K, do well in school, pay my bills, find a Good Grown Up Job when I graduate?

This morning I got up bright and early to attempt Week 1, Day 2. I got about 10 feet down the lane and decided that this was going to be Week 0.5, not Week 1. I figured I could do the full program today, but my body just wasn’t having it. I am sore, tense, and congested. While it’s a beautiful day now, the air was crisp this morning; congestion and cold air are not friendly to my lungs.

But I kept making my way down the lane, up the road, and over to the high school I did laps around on Monday. Instead of doing the Ct5K with the Ullreys podcast, I put some tunes on, warmed up, stretched, and then made a deal with myself. I would walk the long sides of the HS block, and run the short ones. I did this a few times, and then started coughing. Not. Good. That was when I decided to head home, cool down, and hop in the shower. I did some more stretching in the shower, but I’m still feeling tense and sore all over.

I still got up, went out, and did something, so I’m proud of myself. When I think about the 5K in November, I panic. When I forget about that, put the staircase out of my mind, I’m able to take these first steps in faith.

No Responses Yet to “QOTW: Faith”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

