QOTW: Health

22Aug07

“Health is a state of complete physical, mental and social well-being and not merely the absence of disease or infirmity.” – the WHO Constitution

I’ve always liked this bit from the WHO Constitution. I think it’s incredibly important to recognize that health is more than simply not being sick; this becomes doubly important for people (like me!) who suffer chronic illness or who battle their weight.

Being healthy, for me, doesn’t simply mean that my asthma isn’t flaring up. Health, in relation to my asthma, will be when I’m comfortable with the amount and types of medication(s) I’m on to manage it, when I’m not ashamed to use my emergency puffer in public. (Self – WTH is up with that, anyways? Sheesh.)

Being healthy won’t magically come with losing weight. Instead, it will come with dedication to healthy choices, positive relationships, and less stress. It will come with regaining the relationship with my body, when I could read my body and deeply understand it.

Losing weight won’t make me healthy in and of itself, unless and until I make a variety of changes in all areas of my life.

What do you all consider “health” to be, for you? How are you making that happen?

No Responses Yet to “QOTW: Health”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

