What next?

16Aug07

So in nineteen days, I go back to school for one last semester.

Yikes.

I only have three classes left, and the three I need are well-scheduled, so I’ll only be on campus two days a week. I’ll be in class most of the day (9:30-11, 2-3:30, 3:30-5) those two days, then working 2-3days a week, at Brownies once a week, and hopefully playing with at least one team once a week. I’m excited that life is going to be happily busy and varied for the next few months.

I guess I’m excited about going back to school? It’s hard to say, really, because I’m so happily settled into the M-F 9-5 routine of the last 8 months. I’m glad that in a few short months, I’ll have what I’ve worked so hard for the last four years, that I’ll have made it through all the hurdles and bureaucracy and everything else.

But then what?

I have so many friends who confidently answer the “so, what are your plans after graduation?” questions from strangers, parents, friends. They say they are going to grad school, looking for a job as whatever-profession, travelling, or getting certified for whatever. They say that, and the parent/friend/stranger nods and says “that’s great!” or “oh, my husband/aunt/sister’s husband’s cousin did that and …”

People don’t seem to know how to respond to my answer of “ummmm, I’m not really sure yet.” They sort of pause or stutter, and say some “cheer up, ol’ chap”-type answer like “oh, I’m sure you’ll figure something out, four months is lots of time!”

I’m really struggling with this right now. Part of me thinks oh-crap-I’ve-gotta-think-of-something. Part of me thinks that I am so young, and wonders why I have to have it all figured out the day of my final exam(s). A huge part of me thinks there are just too many choices, and that part of me is envious of everyone who does have it figured out, who has a career or profession picked out already. Part of me thinks that this is great, not knowing what comes next, because that means that what comes next is anything I want!

For now, I know that there are a few things I want to achieve between now and September 2008. These include:

  • Hiking the Grouse Grind. (#1 on my 101 in 1001 list)
  • Getting back to my “fighting weight”, i.e.: the weight/fitness level I was when I was playing basketball.
  • Going to church more often than Christmas and Easter.
  • Sucking up my wimpy ways and give blood.
  • Finding more ways to give my time to Guiding.

None of these things really does much for figuring out my future career(s), but they’ll take me closer to being the person I want to be and having the lifestyle I want.
So, folks, how did you or are you figuring out what comes next in your life? How did you figure out what you want/wanted your life to be in your 20s?

No Responses Yet to “What next?”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

