Quote of the Week

07Aug07

Some of you might have noticed that I’ve added a Quote of the Week to my sidebar. I’m a sucker for a good quote, always have been. I have them sticky-noted in books, bookmarked on websites, saved in emails I’ve sent myself, written on scraps of paper around the house. In January, when I started committing to a healthier life and lifestyle, I had two quotes in mind – the Martha Graham quote which gave me the name for this blog, and all of Dr Seuss’ Oh, The Places You’ll Go. They guide me when my motivation is weak, when my drive is faltering. They remind me of the decisions I have to make for this to happen, even when I want to stop.

Recently, I decided that I’d try to have a different quote each week to keep me going, so that Martha and Dr Seuss don’t lose their influence on me from over-use. You’ll find each week’s quote on my sidebar, and the old ones are archived on the Fun Stuff page. From now on, I’ll try to blog about each week’s quote, as well. You’ll find those under the “qotw” tag on the blog.


“The difference between perseverance and obstinacy is that one comes from a strong will, and the other from a strong won’t.” ~Henry Ward Beecher

I think weight loss, or any change in lifestyle, requires a mix of perseverance and obstinacy. Changing your lifestyle is as much about what you no longer want (in my case, fatigue, extra weight, laziness, etc.) as it is about what you do want (return to athleticism, more energy, etc.) your life to include.

I’m not big on negativity, personally. I try to be a positive person, although that can be a struggle. I have less and less patience for negativity from the people around me. Setting up the “won’ts” for me isn’t about setting negative boundaries (e.g.: I won’t eat a cookie). The “won’ts” are my motivations – I won’t have to rely on my medication as much, I won’t have to shop at plus size stores, I won’t be tired all the time because I refuse to. I refuse to live an unhealthy lifestyle anymore; I also refuse to be perfect. I will err. I will eat cookies and ice cream and drink pop sometimes. I will skip workouts. That’s okay, as long as those aren’t the habits, but the exceptions.

I will make these changes, and persevere through the rocky points. But I will also be obstinate, and refuse to accept BS from myself anymore, too.

PS: I had my 1000th page view today! Yay! 😛

One Response to “Quote of the Week”

  1. You know how I love QUOTES! I’ll be by!!! 🙂 Congrats on the 1,000 page view, btw!

    I responded to your comment on my blog

    PS: you have a great outlook on the changes you are making! Congrats and kudos!


Leave a Reply

