Goals

23Jul07

So I have all these goals. Great, that’s a start.

Now how the heck do I make them happen? What do I need to do to achieve them?

My Big Project for the week is to try to figure out my true motivations behind my weight loss, health and fitness goals. It’s some rough territory I’m in right now – I’m digging deeper into this part of myself than I have in a long time. I’ve compartmentalized and buried so much of how I feel about my body for so long that this is emotional and draining, terrifying and exhilarating.

I keep having these small moments that make me pick up on something else I have buried away – secret wishes, hurtful comments I pretended not to hear, motivations, obstacles. They’ll come popping up at the most random of times – on the bus, sitting watching the game on Saturday, reading a book. Sometimes they are painful and I want to retreat, but instead make myself listen, try to understand, try to feel what I’ve buried away. Sometimes they are thrilling, like carrying something secret and wonderful tucked under my coat where no one else can share it, feel it, experience it.

This is my plan for the week – figure out what is motivating me to make these changes, set these goals. It should be interesting, and I’ll keep you posted on what I discover.

One Response to “Goals”

  1. 1 Neel

    It’s important to keep goals before you…look forward to reading about your experiences.


Leave a Reply

