Breathe.

06Jun07

My asthma has been rough this week – I think the only word to accurately describe my lungs lately is “yucky.” I don’t know if it’s the pollen, adjusting to a 90% carpetted apartment without a vacuum, or something else, but eeesh. With all this TB ridiculousness in the news, people glare at me when I have a coughing fit on the bus, or in line at the store. Not fun.

The positive in all of this is that it’s got me thinking once again about how I manage my asthma, and how that should maybe change over time. Right now, I take a corticosteroid daily (1x in the AM, 2x in the PM), and albuterol as needed. I rarely need the albuterol – maybe once a month, generally. In the last few weeks, I’ve been relying on it much more, since it’s been a much harder/longer tree pollen season. I work out, but not as much as I should.

I’ve been hearing more about the benefits of yoga for asthma sufferers, but I’m having a hard time finding empirical support, or any writing about what type of yoga is beneficial. All my Googling is just pulling up articles from yoga magazines/sites with no references or proof, which is incredibly frustrating. I may just start yoga as part of my quest to get generally healthy, my quest to practice living and see what happens to my breathing, but I’ll certainly have to talk to the doctor about it, at this point.

I miss the days when I could breathe easy and free; when I didn’t worry that today might be the day I have an asthma attack; when I didn’t have to carry an inhaler every where I go just in case; when I didn’t worry about catching other people’s colds/flus because I would always get well quickly.

No Responses Yet to “Breathe.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

